Stamps: The Philippine Revolution

The Philippines celebrated it’s 113th year of Independence last June 12, 2011. Celebrations were held simultaneously in different parts of the country as well as in various Filipino communities all over the world.

Here’s a collection of stamps on Philippine Revolution featuring the important people and events that led to the Declaration of Philippine Independence.


Filipino revolutionaries featured :
1. Jose Rizal
2. Andres Bonifacio
3. Tandang Sora
4. Macario Sakay
5. Emilio Aguinaldo
6. Gregorio Del Pilar

Historical events featured in the collection:
1. Katipunan Initiation Rites
2. Cry of Pugad Lawin
3. Battle of Binakayan
4. Execution of Jose Rizal
5. Cry of Candon
6. Proclamation of Independence
7. Battle of Tirad Pass
8. Inauguration of the 1st Philippine Republic
9. Start of Philippine-American War
10. Battle of Balangiga

It was on June 12, 1898 when Gen. Emilio Aguinaldo proclaimed Philippine Independence in Kawit, Cavite.